No Secrets Here

There are no secrets to getting fit. For so many years I have been under the impression that you had to work out like a maniac and go on these crazy crash diets if you ever wanted to be skinny and lose weight.

Boy was I wrong….
First off let me start with saying that I have no intentions of “getting skinny”. I don’t want to be skinny, I want to be fit. This means not going on a diet but rather changing my lifestyle. Each day I try to make healthier decisions and push myself a little harder. Weight lose/body transformation doesn’t come quick with this kind of routine. But thats what makes it so good! I know I’m not just losing water weight or going on some ridiculously constrictive diet just to go off of it and gain all the weight back on. This is a permanent thing. If you can change the way you live your life, it will make you a happier person!
Image

Four simplest rules to a healthier life…

  1. DRINK WATER: I cannot stress this enough!!! Water is so important for your body and is essential to be healthy. It is recommended to drink half your body weight in ounces EACH DAY. (just to clear up a little wives-tale, water doesn’t make you gain water weight..it actually flattens your belly! What makes you gain water weight is all the high salt content food you are eating because the salt holds on to the water and doesn’t let it do its natural thing.
  2. WORK OUT: Try to be as active as you can. For example: take the stairs instead on the elevator, bike to work, take a walk after dinner..etc. I usually try to do some cardio (30 minutes in the morning) everyday and then weight training 4-5x per week. I can’t stress enough how important weights are!!! Remember: the more muscle you have the faster you burn fat.
  3. EAT HEALTHY: This means try to eat food as close to its natural state as possible. Look for things that aren’t processed or have added sugar/salt. Greens are the best thing you could put in your body. So if you love them, they will love you right back. (TIP: look at ingredients when you are at the grocery store. For example: I check the ingredients on the peanut butter and make sure that there are no oils or salts added in. Just plain peanuts.)
  4. GET SLEEP: It is recommended that adults should be getting 7-9 hours a night (Source). This is also essential because your body needs time to recover and restore itself.
Leave a Reply

